Skip to main content

On Tuesday, April 9, 2024, NC States’ College of Engineering held its annual Awards for Excellence ceremony. This year’s winners from the Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME) for SHRA and EHRA, respectively, were Andrea (Andi) Scheer (Human Resources Specialist) and Rekha Balasubramanyam (Associate Chair of Administration.)

The Awards for Excellence are regarded as NC State’s highest honor for non-faculty employees and serve as a beacon of recognition for individuals who demonstrate exceptional dedication and contributions that transcend their daily work responsibilities.

Andi received the Award for Excellence in Human Relations, recognizing her exceptional contributions to improving workplace quality and morale and enhancing the public image of NC State University or state government.

Former BME Department Head Troy Nagle described Andi as an exemplary role model, treating everyone with courtesy and respect. Professor Jacque Cole expresses common praise that “Andi works extremely hard to make everyone else’s job easier, often without us even knowing it.”


Subha Rekha BalasubramanyamRekha was honored with the Award for Excellence in Outstanding State Government Service, acknowledging her outstanding dedication to duty and significant contributions to advancing state service for the citizens of North Carolina.

Rekha’s colleague Jack O’Daly, BME’s Director of Research, concurs that she is devoted to duty far beyond normal requirements. “Rekha is absolutely critical to the success of BME’s research enterprise. Her tireless efforts ensure that sponsored research funds flow when and where needed. She is great about making sure personnel receive the support intended, especially for student personnel. Rekha always goes above and beyond to protect their interests. The Joint Department is a crucial bridge between NC State and UNC that allows a unique blend of instruction, knowledge and innovation to flourish. Rekha is the suspension that holds up this bridge. It is an amazing accomplishment.”

Congratulations to Andi and Rekha for their well-deserved recognition, exemplifying the College of Engineering’s commitment to excellence and service!

Comments are closed.