Skip to main content

BME Achievement Awards recognize the significant efforts made by faculty, staff, post-docs, and students in research, teaching and mentoring, as well as service to the department. This year the selection was particularly difficult, given the number of outstanding nominees who have gone above and beyond their normal duties amid the pandemic.

The following awardees were selected from an impressive pool of nominees with support from the Department Awards Committee (Drs. Fran Ligler, Scott Magness, Roger Narayan, George Ligler, and Naji Husseini) and help from members of BME faculty, staff, and trainees serving on review panels across UNC and NC State. The 2020 BME Staff Service Award went to Lindsay Castret. The Teaching and Mentoring Award was given to Dr. Kennita Johnson. The BME Faculty Service Award to Dr. Paul Dayton, BME Interim Chair.  The Faculty Research was awarded to Dr. Devin Hubbard. The Postdoctoral Fellows Award for Outstanding Research Achievements was shared by Drs. Camilo Mora-Navarro (Freytes Lab) and Rebecca Krupenevich (Franz Lab). The awards for PhD Student Achievement in Research went to Justin Huckaby (Lai Lab) and Emily Mihalko (Brown Lab).

Congratulations to all awardees for the well deserved recognition and service to the department!

Comments are closed.