Skip to main content
Zhen Gu Accepted to Fourth Year of ACCLAIM

BME faculty member Zhen Gu, PhD, will be participating in the fourth year of the Academic Career Leadership Academy in Medicine (ACCLAIM). Participants were selected by a steering committee comprised… Read more

Helen Huang Selected to Participate in NAE’s 2015 US Frontiers of Engineering Symposum

BME faculty member Helen Huang, PhD, has been selected to participate in the National Academy of Engineering’s 21st annual US Frontiers of Engineering Symposium. Dr. Huang joins 89 participants coming… Read more

Matthew Fisher Selected to Participate in AAOS/ORS Research Symposium

BME faculty member Matt Fisher, PhD, has been selected to participate as a Young Investigator in the AAOS/ORS Biologic Treatment of Orthopaedic Injuries (BTOI) research symposium November 5-7, 2015, i… Read more

Dr. Pacardo Attended Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

From June 28th to July 3rd Dr. Dennis Pacardo attended the 65th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting in Laundau, Germany as a Young Scientist. This year’s Meeting was the fourth interdisciplinary meeting, br… Read more

BME Faculty Dr. Steve Soper Interviewed for Gen Magazine

BME faculty member Dr. Steve Soper was recently featured in Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News. Dr. Soper works with microfluidics and nanofluidics to create integrated fluidic systems for a… Read more

Smart Insulin Patch Featured in News Articles

Dr. Zhen Gu’s smart insulin patch has recently attracted media attention by several websites and media outlets, including The Washington Post, The News & Observer, , UNC School of Medicine’s News,… Read more

BME Faculty Participate in Scientific “Speed-Dating” hosted by UNC Lineberger

The June 29th event was an innovation-focused competition featuring teams’ five-minute pitches for new medical technologies. The event was designed to match surgeons with engineers based on their mutu… Read more

Sarah Shelton Featured in Vital Signs

BME graduate student Sarah Shelton is featured in the School of Medicine’s June Vital Signs.  Go here to read a great interview with Sarah about her aspirations of becoming a professional flamenco dan… Read more

Elizabeth Loboa, Ph.D. named ELATE Fellow

BME professor and associate department chair Elizabeth Loboa has been named a Fellow of the Executive Leadership in Academic Technology and Engineering (ELATE) at Drexel Fellowship Program. This is a… Read more

Brian Cummins Wins Best Poster at NC State Postdoctoral Research Symposium

NC State BME Postdoc Brian Cummins, Ph.D won best poster at the NC State Postdoctoral Research Symposium on May 20th.  His poster, titled “A portable diagnostic test for parathyroid hormone for use at… Read more

Paul Dayton’s Lab Featured in UNC Lineberger News Release

A recent $2 million grant from the National Cancer Institute will enable BME faculty member Paul Dayton and researchers at three other institutions to develop ultrasound molecular imaging technology f… Read more

Michaela Rikard Meets With President Obama, Featured on White House Blog

In March 2015 President Obama hosted the White House Science Fair, featuring outstanding young scholars from around the country, and intended to celebrate their achievements in STEM. Michaela Rikard,… Read more