Skip to main content

We are pleased to announce Kennita Johnson, BME Research Assistant Professor and Director of Diversity and Equity, is one of the two faculty winners of the 13th annual Diversity Awards, which recognize individuals and groups who have given their time and effort to further diversity, equity and inclusion at Carolina and in our surrounding community.

Provost Bob Blouin recognized the impact of the awards, especially during such difficult times, stating, “While we cannot gather in person to celebrate the University’s annual Diversity Awards, it’s extremely fitting and important that we honor and acknowledge these teams and individuals as we continue to endure the worst global health crisis in our lifetimes. The pandemic, as well as political tensions and calls for social and racial justice across our nation, continue to present significant challenges. Despite these hurdles, our award recipients have demonstrated in extraordinary ways that their tireless efforts and commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion are integrally connected to all aspects of the University’s strategic plan, Carolina Next: Innovations for Public Good.”

This year’s winners were chosen from a record number of nominations. Provost Blouin noted that these people and groups have demonstrated a pivotal part of the University’s strategic plan, saying, “The Diversity Awards recognize the critical contributions of teams and individuals whose work embodies the first initiative in the strategic plan, Build our Community Together. Carolina is committed to creating and sustaining a diverse, equitable, and inclusive community of students, faculty and staff. Our differences are our strength, and our diversity enhances our University’s three-part mission of research, teaching and service. Again, congratulations and thank you to this year’s recipients.”

BME joins the Diversity Awards Committee and the University Office for Diversity and Inclusion in congratulating Dr. Johnson and this year’s other Diversity Award winners.

Comments are closed.